Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Help! Angles and ridgeline setup

I'm new to this, just my second hang last night. I've been using the hammock hang calculator to try and get there distance and angles etc.

Is it 30° with me in it?

My ridgeline seems very tight when I'm laying in it. There's a bit of play but not the near 90° I've seen in some of the videos. So it's maybe too short. Is the hammock length just hammock material or does it include the rope and karabiner that attach it to the tree straps?

Hammock
    Warbonnet RR / BlackbirdXLC
    Tarp
    SimplyLightDesigns
    Insulation
    Lynx / LocoLibre
    Suspension
    webbing/buckles
    Images
    Shugs videos should help you out. Here's one on the ridge lines. There are dozens of others that may be helpful as well.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xrfBrIEH2-U

Hammock
    Dutch PolyD
    Tarp
    HG Winter Palace
    Insulation
    HG 0, 20, 40
    Suspension
    Dutch Whoopie Hook
    Images
    It's 30 degrees with you in it. However, it is just about impossible to figure out 30 degrees with you in it, so just eyeball it.

Hammock length is just hammock material - everything else I would consider suspension. What do you mean by "90° I've seen in some of the videos?" Some people say you should have a little slack in your ridgeline, but I usually find the angle with a little slack, then raise or lower the straps on the trees to eliminate that slack (I don't like slack in the ridgeline). Personally, I just point my finger like a gun to figure out 30 degrees - always works for me!
    "A foolish consistency is the hobgoblin of little minds." Ralph Waldo Emerson

Quote Originally Posted by SilvrSurfr View Post
    It's 30 degrees with you in it. However, it is just about impossible to figure out 30 degrees with you in it, so just eyeball it.