Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Sleeping pad vs. underquilt???

Being new to the hobby,looking for advice on a quality sleeping pad vs a underquilt? Hammock is a Clark NX270. Any advice will be greatly appreciated, thanks.

Hammock
    WBBB SL 1.7
    Tarp
    WB Mamajamba
    Insulation
    WB 0° Wooki +3oz
    Suspension
    Beetle Buckles
    Images
    In short: pads in a hammock suck. They only have very few advantages: they are cheap, most beginners already have one, they can be used when going to ground (but once you hang, you'll probably try to avoid that at any cost), and they're absolutely wind-proof. On the con side: most pads are too narrow, they are not breathable (get used to always feeling somewhat damp), it's difficult to keep them in place and stay on them.

There are very few hammock enthusiasts who stick with pads over time. There is a reason for that But don't take my word - if you have a pad, simply try it yourself.

I have no experience with that particular hammock, but if you want to get started with an under quilt I'd suggest the AHE Jarbidge. It's relatively inexpensive and good down below freezing. In general under quilts are probably more comfortable in the sense that they don't change the shape of the hammock.I used pads for at least a year before buying my first quilt and generally prefer the quilts, but I reserve the right to change my mind and be inconsistent.

If you already own a pad try it first. If you own neither, buy an under quilt.
    "...the height of hammock snobbery!"