Hammock
    REI quarter dome air
    Insulation
    Under quilt syn
    Suspension
    Whoopi sling

REI quarter dome air

Hello to everyone I’m new to the hammock camping world and to hammock forum as well. Since joining several have asked about the REI quarter dome air. So here’s a quick overview. I recently purchased 2 of these and the matching under quilt for scout camp out. Materials are excellent quality and cross pattern stitching was great to reinforce stress points. Bug net is great and while deployed and acts as head test while sitting in hammock. Easy set up once figured out the Whoopi sling, hammock and quilt up in less than 15 min. Tried them out in back yard first with the following set up . Hammock plus under quilt plus exped twintrack pad inserted into big Agnes buffalo park 40 degree sleeping bag paired w 15 degree sleeping bag used as top quilt. Temps down to upper 20’s completely toasty warm no cold spots. At camp out set up posed a small problem as trees were larger in diameter than anticipated but still was able to set up in under 30 min. Same set up with pad and bags and under quilt. Temps dropped to 20 degees again completely comfortable. As for sleeping it was one the best nights sleep I’ve had on camping trip in a long while. No hard ground no pressure points that caused discomfort and easily slept on my side all night with no shoulder squeeze. So overall a great sleep system the only draw back is finding the right size tree to work w the hammock suspension system. In the future I ma purchase a set of atlas straps to avoid the tree diameter issue. Have not used in rain as of yet so the rain fly size I cannot comment on. I will say the the rain fly set up was a breeze no knots to tie and built in draw strings worked great. I’m sure there are better bridge hammocks out there but for a novice it’s works well and at a reasonable price.

Hammock
    Dutchware 11' netless
    Tarp
    SLD Trail Haven
    Suspension
    Myerstech dyneema