Hammock
    a few DIY builds
    Tarp
    minifly (untested)
    Insulation
    CDT and EE Rev
    Suspension
    Straps so far

So just how hard is it to work with silpoly anyway?

Howdy all,

Excited newbie here...finally got around to sewing up my kit hammock today! Hammock itself was pretty simple, but the stuff sack took three tries. Glad I didn't start with the stuff sack!

Now I'm starting to think about sewing a tarp. I still have a fantastic but heavy tarp from my BWCA days that I figure will work for cold weather use, so I am thinking of making something light for summer.

A lot of folks here have cautioned about silpoly being hard to work with. The machine I'm using has a walking foot, and the 1.6 hyper D was a breeze. Is the silpoly going to be significantly more of a pain?

Also, silpoly, silnylon, or "membrane silpoly?" I'm kind of liking the idea of a pre-cut kit from RBTR to continue building confidence, but heck with all of the videos you folks have put out, maybe cutting my own would be an option.

FirstDIYHammockSm.jpg

Hammock
    DIY
    Tarp
    DIY Winter 12
    Insulation
    HG Econ 20* quilts
    Suspension
    beetles
    Quote Originally Posted by TreeRing View Post
    Howdy all,

Excited newbie here...finally got around to sewing up my kit hammock today! Hammock itself was pretty simple, but the stuff sack took three tries. Glad I didn't start with the stuff sack!

Now I'm starting to think about sewing a tarp. I still have a fantastic but heavy tarp from my BWCA days that I figure will work for cold weather use, so I am thinking of making something light for summer.

A lot of folks here have cautioned about silpoly being hard to work with. The machine I'm using has a walking foot, and the 1.6 hyper D was a breeze. Is the silpoly going to be significantly more of a pain?