Dream Hammock Raven D/L
    Tarp
    SLD Winter Haven
    Insulation
    0 and 30 Zeppelin
    Suspension
    Cinch Buckles

Are Underquilt Hooks Necessary?

Please pardon the total noobie question but are underquilt hooks totally needed to use an underquilt effectively? I just ordered a Raven hammock and am hoping to pick up an underquilt for it soon as well. The Raven doesn't have underquilt hooks but from what I've read on here, people seem to say that they don't have any issues with their underquilt with the Raven. Do the hooks just help keep the quilt in place better?

Hammock
    WBBB XLC/R.R 1.1 dbl
    Tarp
    WB Superfly UGQ WD
    Insulation
    HG/LocoL/AHE/UGQ
    Suspension
    Beetle Buckles
    Images
    Hi Steve. I'm not familiar with the Raven but I use the hooks on my BBXLC so the foot end or shoulder end don't snap off and wake up with cold feet or shoulder. Then I'd wake up and have to reach under and snap the quilt back in to place. The hooks keeps the quilt in place.
    Hanging in the woods, paddlin and catching trout- My kind of living...

Hammock
    Dutch PolyD
    Tarp
    HG Winter Palace
    Insulation
    HG 0, 20, 40
    Suspension
    Dutch Whoopie Hook
    Images
    Just got a Chameleon with quilt hooks. I don't see that they are providing much, other than piece of mind. I used underquilts for five years without quilt hooks.
    "A foolish consistency is the hobgoblin of little minds." Ralph Waldo Emerson

Hammock
    Warbonnet RR / BlackbirdXLC
    Tarp
    SimplyLightDesigns
    Insulation
    Lynx / LocoLibre
    Suspension
    webbing/buckles
    Images
    I've never had them until I got my Chameleon . They aren't necessary but are nice to have.

Hammock
    Dutchware Chameleon Hexon 1.6
    Tarp
    WB Thunderfly
    Insulation
    HG Incubator 20*
    Suspension
    June Bugs