Hammock
    The cured intestines of my enemies
    Tarp
    Wing of bat
    Insulation
    Possum fur
    Suspension
    of disbelief

Bridge suspension: amsteel "noose" instead of dogbones?

I'm considering making a bridge hammock, and had an idea for the suspension. Instead of using a couple of dogbones at each end, I'd like to use a single piece of amsteel with a spliced "noose" similar to the noose in Tacblades' improved softshackles. Threaded through that noose could be the adjustable end of a whoopie, or a continuous loop, or (my preference) a soft shackle.

At each end of the amsteel would be an eye-splice, which I'd larks-head to the hammock. I'd insert the spreader-bar tips into that larkshead, which should tighten down around it.

Here's a very professional diagram:

bridge-ends.jpg

Thoughts?

(I'm new to bridge hammocks, and missed all the history of their development, so the pros and cons of this might be well-known. But not to me )

Hammock
    WildernessLogics 12x6
    Tarp
    HG cuben 13ridge12
    Insulation
    TopQuiltUnderQuilt
    Suspension
    S and D
    Baka Dasai, it might work great.
    Are you going to make a prototype?
    I've never tried a bridge hammock.
    I'm seeing more bridge hammocks all the time.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I have thought about doing this also but could not figure out how you would larkshead both ends. How would you do that?

Hammock
    DIY Bridge /Draumr
    Tarp
    DIY Silpoly
    Insulation
    DIY UQ and TQ
    Suspension
    PolyStraps/Huggers
    Quote Originally Posted by grubbster View Post
    I have thought about doing this also but could not figure out how you would larkshead both ends. How would you do that?
    Details, details...

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    “The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men should do nothing.”

- Edmund Burke

Quote Originally Posted by FJRpilot View Post
    Details, details...

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk