Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Why rope for tarp rigging?

Newbie here, and apologies if this was addressed in another thread, but searching various terms showed nothing.

Question: All of the Youtube videos I've seen show people rigging their tarp to the trees with a simple rope/cord. I know this is a big no-no when hanging a hammock, since rope is not tree-friendly.

So why don't people use webbing for tarp attachment to the trees? Is it because the stress from a tarp is insignificant compared to the stress that would be caused by the weight of a hammock plus occupant?

Using webbing would mean extra ounces if you're backpacking, so that's the obvious downside of going with a more tree-friendly rigging.

Thanks!

Hammock
    I have many so....
    Tarp
    Blackcrow DIY Tarp
    Insulation
    FrankenquiltUQ/Pod
    Suspension
    Whoopie Slings
    Images
    I feel that there is no body weight in/on a tarp like a hammock. You could put small sticks under your tarp cord if it is a moral thing.
    Carry forth.
    Shug
    Whooooo Buddy)))) All Secure in Sector Seven

Hammock
    DW Chameleon Hexon 1.6
    Tarp
    Kelty Noahs 12
    Insulation
    HG Econ Incubator
    Suspension
    Whoopies

Why rope for tarp rigging?

I have been using tubular webbing with my zing-it crl strung through on the tree when at campgrounds so i can say "no ropes" will be attached to trees directly. Its more about appearances than anything else. I want my local rangers to be confortable with my setup and not have any doubts.

Hammock
    Amok Draumr 3.0
    Tarp
    Amok
    Insulation
    Synmat 9 LW
    Suspension
    cinch buckles
    amok tarp is rigged with webbing rather than rope/cord for the tree ties.

I think it's more for aesthetics tho, and to match the draumr more than anything else

as shug said, there's not really much of a load on the tarp, so requirements are different

Quote Originally Posted by Shug View Post