Hammock
    WB Ridge Runner
    Tarp
    HG Dyneema Hex 12
    Insulation
    DIY TQ / UGQ UQ
    Suspension
    Evo Loops & Straps

What does an UQ feel like? How can I 'try' one out?

Hi all - forgive my ignorance, newbie here (used my hammock for the first time on my first backpacking trip last weekend)

I'm hoping for some advice with regards to trying to determine if I need or would like an underquilt. My hammock is a double layer Warbonnet Ridgerunner and I currently use a Klymit Static V Luxe Insulated pad (which i've used comfortably into the low 40's). I use a Klymit KSB 20 down sleeping bag as a top quilt and just leave it unzipped.

I know this may seem like a strange question, but does an underquilt change the 'feel' of the hammock other than to improve the insulation? Obviously my pad changes the feel of the hammock since it raises my up a bit and I'm sleeping on top of it. But my understanding is that an underquilt would go below the hammock and essentially just be touching the hammock fabric. So from that standpoint, does sleeping in a hammock with an underquilt feel the same as sleeping in a hammock without an underquilt?

My other question is - is it possible to 'try out' an underquilt without committing to buying an underquilt? By that i mean, can i use existing things I own (like sleeping bags, blankets, down throws, etc) to get a similar experience to an underquilt? I would obviously try it out in a controlled environment like my backyard where weight wasn't a concern.

I'd be hoping to be able to draw conclusions between how my insulated pad feels versus how an underquilt would feel. Is this an unrealistic expectation?

Thanks!

Images
    An underquilt feels like just laying in the hammock by itself, except warmer.