Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hammock
    WBBB XLC
    Insulation
    Wooki
    Suspension
    Whoopies

Question HG Cuben Fiber Winter Palace is Ridge Line Cat-cut?

Hello,

I have a few questions about the Hammock Gear Dyneema (Cuben) Fiber (Winter) Palace Tarp.

I'm new to things, so I don't really know what I'm doing. I'm planning to get an 11' gathered end hammock. From the calculator on The Ultimate Hang, I think with a 30' angle this should be about 114-119 inches, and I should have 6-12 inches on either side, so I need coverage of about 10.5 to 12 feet. Does this sound right? Would the 11' Palace tarp comfortable fit a Chameleon or Warbonnet Blackbird XLC? Should I go for 12' instead?

From HG's description "The Palace is a catenary cut tarp" but, is this just the sides (perimeter), or is the ridge line also catenary cut?

From the research I've been doing, whilst cat-cut saves weight and eases getting a tight pitch, it also has drawbacks

From: http://www.jacksrbetter.com/a-few-words-about-tarps/
    When the ridgeline is a catenary cut it provides, in its optimum, or near optimum angle, a super taunt tarp. This virtually eliminates any flapping. Some say, “It turns the tarp into a hummer vice a flapper in storms”. The drawback is that it is only effective in the optimal pitch and it becomes extremely floppy and sloppy when pitched high and flat or as a single plane, shed roof. It often eliminates other ground pitch options, beyond the optimum angle, altogether. This style of tarp is only for the individual who plans to use it the same way all of the time. It eliminates, for practical purposes, most of a tarp’s flexibility features.
    If the ridge line is flat and not cat-cut it should make it easier to hang it with one side longer than the other (although this would mess up the use of the doors).