Dutchware double layer
    Tarp
    Warbonnet Superfly
    Insulation
    Jarbridge & HG TQ
    Suspension
    Whoopies

Newbie Question about length

Sorry for the question on length, I know it's a common topic but usually discussion revolves around the 9-12 foot range from what I could find.

I'm brand new to hammock camping, and stayed 2 nights in a Grand Trunk Skeeter Beeter comfortably. (About 10.6 feet I believe)

In my enthusiasm to try to get my friends to try a hammock next time I take them along, I went looking for a cheap hammock with good reviews on Amazon. I found this Wonenice hammock for $22 with good reviews https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B01MQ...q-L&ref=plSrch

Being new, I had never considered all the different size options.

Later, I read a site that says you want a hammock at least 4 foot taller than you. This one I purchased is 8.5 feet. So, did I waste my money? (Even though it's cheap) it feels alright to lounge around in the yard with but a full diagonal lay probably isn't likely.

So I guess my question is, does anyone else sleep in smaller ones like this? Is a full diagonal lay necessary for comfort or can things like a pillow under the knee make up for it? Any other words of wisdom? Or am I just better starting over and letting this one collect dust?

Thanks!

Hammock
    WBBB 1.7 SL
    Tarp
    WB Superfly
    Insulation
    WB and UGQ
    Suspension
    Whoopies or Straps
    Images
    8.5 feet is a little small IMO. I've slept in one that size before but I'm only 5'6". Generally you want to look for at least 10 feet to have a good chance at converting someone.
    Don't let life get in the way of living.

Hammock
    ridgerunner
    Tarp
    superfly
    Suspension
    buckles
    It sounds as if a hammock that is 4' longer than one's height works without discomfort. However, ultimate comfort is only achieved with hammock lengths 5' longer than a person's height.