Dutch/SLD/WB/DIY
    Tarp
    DWG/HG/SLD/UGQ/DIY
    Insulation
    Loco Libre Gear
    Suspension
    Dutchware

Cool The Cowboy Cat Tangle Tarp

I am something of a traditionalist -- even old-fashioned in many ways -- yet as a creative professional I value open-mindedness, new ideas, innovation, and out-of-the-box thinking.

It occasionally raises my hackles here on Hammock Forums when I see someone's creative thinking on a hammock set-up or DIY project uncharitably dismissed or even held to the fire and subjected to unwarranted or overly harsh criticism by those who consider themselves knowledgeable without the simple acknowledgement that each of us comes to the activity of hammock camping with a slightly (or sometimes radically) different approach.

The gram weenie will take to task the casual camper who saves a few bucks with a practical, low-cost set-up that weighs a few ounces extra, and the bushcrafter will shame the gram weenie when his ultralight molecular-weave ubertextiles are defeated by a simple thorn out in the field. Arguments ensue over trivial divides like "knots versus hardware" or "grosgrain versus roll hems" -- some serious First World dilemmas...

I see all of this debate and discord as a degree of failure to embrace the central ethos embodied by "Hang Your Own Hang" (HYOH). After reading, learning, sharing, and participating in hammock camping and hammock DIY, I am resolved that there is almost always more than one "right" way to accomplish a goal when it comes to hanging between two trees, and quite often "right" is a very subjective determination dependent upon individual priorities and preferences.
    ber