Hammock
    DIY Hexon 1.6
    Insulation
    Down TQ and UQ
    Suspension
    Tree straps w/ UCR

My first DIY hammock questions

Should I use calendered or uncalendered hexon 1.6 or hyperD 1.0 calendered or uncalendered for my first DIY hammock?

I plan on making an 11 foot hammock that has whipped ends. Which is softer? What kind of stretch do they have? Does the calender make a difference besides being down proof? Would I need to hem the edges on the fabric?

Any and all help is appreciated! Thank you.

Hammock
    DIY Double Layer
    Tarp
    DIY Ultralight Hex
    Insulation
    HG Burrow/Phoenix
    Suspension
    DIY whoopies
    Images
    Hey diablonab! Congrats on starting your first hammock! I'm not an expert by any stretch of the imagination, but here is my .02. I did a DIY double layer hammock and used uncalendared Hyper D for the outer layer and calendared Hyper D for the inner layer. I chose to go calendared for the inner layer because I like the feeling of the fabric more (probably because it reminds me of the feel of a quality down sleeping bag). You can do it either way and it won't impact the practical usability of your hammock. A couple of notes;

1. If you choose to use calendared material for your hammock it's going to be really slick, meaning you'll tend to slide around in it more than on uncalendared nylon. This can be annoying in the middle of the night.

2. Calendared material also doesn't breathe as much as uncalendared (because the heat closes a lot of the small gaps between the nylon threads). If you do most of your hanging in warmer weather, this is something to consider!

I think the stretch is about the same for both fabrics. Stretch has more to do with the ripstop pattern than the heat treatment. Examples: Plain nylon is going to stretch more (in the thread bias direction) than standard ripstop. Standard ripstop is going to stretch more than Hyper D....Hyper D is going to stretch more than Robic....etc.