Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

3-5 day backpacking trip on the Superior Hiking Trail in August

Hello! I'm not sure if this is the right place to post this, as I'm looking for advice and I'm not trying to organize a group hang as many of these posts seem to be doing. So if this is the wrong subforum please let me know. Anyway here goes:
    I'm planning to do a 3-5 day backpacking trip with a couple friends on the SHT this August. However, I am a total newbie when it comes to trip planning. We'll be totally fine once we get on the trail, but I just don't know exactly how to get started in doing that. Does anyone know of some good section to hike? We're probably set to do 5-10 miles a day, if that helps. Where do you reccomend we go? Would you recommend shuttling to a trailhead and hiking back to the car? Or doing a there-and-back kind of deal? Sorry for my complete lack of knowledge, but thanks for your advice!

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk

Based on as much info i could find, the stretch from Grand Marais to Caribou Falls is the most scenic.
    It's a 70 mile hike that I'll be doing the 1st week of July, 6 nights on the trail. Look at the website for shuttle service : http://superiorhikingshuttle.com.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by backpackerguy01 View Post
    Based on as much info i could find, the stretch from Grand Marais to Caribou Falls is the most scenic.
    It's a 70 mile hike that I'll be doing the 1st week of July, 6 nights on the trail. Look at the website for shuttle service : http://superiorhikingshuttle.com.

70 miles is a bit long... Is there a shorter version of that?

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk

You can hop off the trail whenever you'd like, Just arrange it with the shuttle

Hammock
    Dutch 11ft. Netless
    Tarp
    HG CF/WBSF
    Insulation
    HG 0 Incub./Burrow
    Suspension
    Dutch Beatle Bug