Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hammock
    just an ENO doublenest right now
    Tarp
    Kelty Noah's 12
    Suspension
    daisy chain straps

Smile Hello from Arkansas!

I'm new to hammocks, and have high hopes that a hammock will make it possible for me to start camping again. Tons of arthritis, knee surgery, and those extra pounds that each decade seems to add on have made the ground just too darn hard for these creaky old bones. I grew up camping and miss it terribly. I won't be backpacking unless I can get some of the weight off, but if this hammock thing works out, I may switch to an indoor hammock to finally, finally get a decent night's sleep again. I sleep with 7 (yes 7!) pillows almost in a hammock-style shape trying to get the day's accumulated fluid out of all those achy joints. If I sleep more than 3-4 hours at a time, it's a miracle. Pillows shift, pressure points, etc. A good night's sleep would be very beneficial to my weight loss struggle.

I picked up an ENO doublenest on sale locally and some daisy chain straps, and I'm trying to figure out how to reasonably use my old camping gear to set myself up for a successful night. I know my knots and am comfortable in the outdoors, just new to hanging. We have tarps, pads, sleeping bags, etc. and are on a tight budget. I have a 25-year old daughter and we are hoping to have some mother/daughter campouts. (Car camping only.) She loves this idea and bought herself a hammock first chance she got when I she heard what I was looking at.