Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

What's the best way to hang hammock to suspension line?

Hi, I am new to hammock and suspension, but read posts and watched videos in the past few days, and find it fascinating. I am about to build my first hammock/suspension, I have ripstop 1.3 and amsteel 7/64

When I use the system, I plan to have the suspension up first, tree webbing+UCR+ridge line (line with 2 eyes)+UCR+tree webbing, then after the suspension is adjusted and tight, then hang my hammock later. I figure this way I have all the freedom to get suspension right first without holding the hammock, then it's easy to hang or take down hammock as I wish, especially for the patio/backyard, does it make sense?

and the next question is, what's the best way to hang my hammock (GE with eye) to the suspension, to the UCR eye basically? I can use soft shackle to connect the 2 eyes, but that seems to be not the simplest way to do it. I like to hear your ideas.

thanks!

Hammock
    Mackinac Bridge
    Tarp
    DCF
    Insulation
    Grey Goose Down
    Suspension
    Whoopies
    Images
    I'm not sure I understand why you'd want to connect the hammock's ridgeline separately from the hammock? Typically the ridgeline is semi-permanently attached to the hammock. Many people who want to quickly connect and disconnect their hammock from the suspension are either larksheading their whoopie slings to continuos loops on the hammock (either in a sewn channel or larksheaded to the end) and then using a marlin spike hitch/toggle setup to connect to the tree straps or are using hardware to accomplish both of those operations. There are vendors here on HF who sell complete suspensions if you're interested.

And welcome to HF!
    "Behold, as a wild a** of the desert, go I forth to my work." -- Guerney Halleck

Quote Originally Posted by Trail Runner View Post