Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Insulation
    UQ and OQ

UQ sewn to hammock

Sorry for the language problems, English is not my native tongue (Dutch is), I hope this is intelligible?

I am new to hammocking, at 62 years old. I am still active as a seascout, but sleeping on a pad became impossible. Nervertheless I had a last great dream I wanted to do: walking the "haute route" Chamonix - Zermatt with some of my scouts, coming september.
    So I bought a hammock: Hennessy Expedition asym classic. As far as my information goes (theory only up to now) it should give me (or my bones) a new start.
    However: the "Haute route" means walking 1000m+ up- and downhill, every day, so I will have to save weight as much as possible or I won't make it.
    I weigh 88kg, I am 1,78m tall: I am not a lightweight. I am altready on a diet, my aim: 79kg.

One of my problems is insulation: I understand that hammocks are cold on the back, without proper precautions.
    I seek advise:
    To save weight, is it possible to make a limited underquilt, say only a strip 2m long, 80cm wide, just under the place were I lay (so; diagonally), SEWN DIRECTLY TO THE HAMMOCK? Does that work?? I am not an active sleeper: once I sleep, I am a log.
    That UQ, combined with a top quilt, both quilts made with Climashield APEX XL - 5 oz/sq yd, and 0.66 oz/yd² MEMBRANE 10 taffeta nylon, should keep me warm?
    I have no experience with hammocks, and I do not have years to learn the hard way: next summer I have to be ready, if not I do not only spell ruin for MY trip (no problem there...), but for those of my scouts as well.
    So: my question to you experienced hangers: do you think it possible, or do I have to carry a complete quilt over the Alps??

Hammock
    WildernessLogics 12x6
    Tarp
    HG cuben 13ridge12
    Insulation
    TopQuiltUnderQuilt
    Suspension
    S and D