Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hammock
    WB Ridgerunner

Sleeping on your Back

Hello,

I'm new to the idea of hammocks and from what I've heard there is really only one drawback to using them that concerns me, side sleeping. It looks like the only option for hammock use is on your back due to the curved shape.

Has this been a real issue for anyone here?

Any tips for being comfortable in a hammock.

Hammock
    HyperD 1.6 DIY 11ft
    Tarp
    PolyD 4000 Cat hex
    Insulation
    Loco Libre quilt
    Suspension
    Whoopies and hooks
    A long hammock (10-12 feet, 11 being most common) will help get a diagonal and flat lay. Side sleeping isn't usually terrible in a gathered end hammock. Honestly, putting on a good whiskey drunk if car camping will help the first few times. Big miles if hiking will put you right out in a hammock. A lot of people, myself included, here are side or stomach sleepers but have no issue sleeping on their backs in a hammock. I usually wind up falling asleep on my back and wake up tilted at around a 45-60 degree angle. Not quite on my side, not quite on my back. It can take a little getting used to but it's totally worth it. I snore like a demon sleeping on my back, though.

Cheers,
    the Goat
    Cheers,
    The Goat

Hammock
    Warbonnet RR / BlackbirdXLC
    Tarp
    SimplyLightDesigns
    Insulation
    Lynx / LocoLibre
    Suspension
    webbing/buckles
    Images
    Welcome to Hammock Forms M2244. I had the same concerns as I can not sleep on my back due issues from back sugery years ago. I tried a Warbonnet Blackbird XLC and while I could lay on my side I felt like I was fighting the hammock to stay on my side. I then tried the Warbonnet Ridgerunner hammock and it's great. I sleep very well on my sides and I can even spend a bit of time on my back and not feel any shoulder squeeze. The only time I now use a gathered end hammock is when the wife goes with me and see takes my Ridgerunner.

Hammock
    diy
    Tarp
    diy