11 ft. Half-Wit 1.6w
    Tarp
    Winter Dream 11
    Insulation
    WL Quilts
    Suspension
    Whoopie sling

Alabama newbie looking to hang.

Hi I'm Marc from Dothan, Al. I'm new to the idea of hammock Camping. It seems like it would be a comfortable alternate alternative to tent camping. I've got a quite a bit of questions in really don't know where to start. I think I have a fairly reasonable budget of about $500 maybe a little more for every thing but I don't know. A lot of my questions are going to be what size, what manufacturer, what should I look for, and etc.
    I'm a fairly large guy at 6-foot 225 pounds.

Hammock
    Dream Hammock Sparrow : SLD
    Tarp
    HG : SLD
    Insulation
    HG : SLD : WB
    Welcome from Decatur alabama.

You can't go wrong with any of the vendors you see listed in the vendor section. You will want a 11' hammock and I would start out with one from dutchware.com you can get a hammock and all the stuff you need to hang the hammock shipped for less than $100. I have a set of underquilt and topquilt from hammock gear and depending on which tempatufe range you want that will run you close to $500 for down. If you want cheaper you can go synthetic and arrowhead equipment sells some good synthetic quilts for a reasonable price. You will also need a tarp and you can get a kelty Noah tarp for pretty cheap until you can get a better and lighter tarp.

Yes hammocks are a lot more comfortable than a tent!
    There's magic in the woods,
    if you know where to look for it.
    -Pete's Dragon

Hammock
    Dream Hammock Sparrow
    Tarp
    Zpack CF
    Insulation
    UGQ Zeppelin
    Suspension
    Whoopies