Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Hammock
    WBBB XLC

Ordering My First Quilt and Have Some Questions

Hello all,

I am new to hammock camping, and I have purchased a Warbonnet XLC double layer. I also purchased a Gossamer Gear hammock pad, but don't have an underquilt or top quilt yet.

I want to buy both of those, but need some guidance.

Should I just go ahead and buy a winter Wooki for WB? The only thing that's stopping me is that I am concerned that I might get too hot in the spring/summer/fall.

I'm looking for the ability to backpack year round, but my first trips will probably be in February at the earliest. Are there any other good options that someone can recommend me?

Thanks in advance.

Hammock
    yes please
    Tarp
    HG cuben w/ doors
    Insulation
    HG Burrow/Phoenix
    Suspension
    kevlar straps
    If you're looking to backpack year round then you probably won't want to carry the bulk and weight of a winter quilt set in the warmer months.

Thus, you may want a 3-season set and a winter set. Sit down and really think about what temps you will encounter in the areas you backpack. Then buy appropriate coverage.

Images
    Hi Frank welcome to the forums. Unfortunately there is no one quilt set that works in all 4 seasons. Winter quilts are just too heavy, bulky and hot for anything but winter time hanging.
    For your first set of quilts I would recommend a set of 20F full length.

Hammock
    WBBB XLC
    Thanks, OutandBack. So is there a big difference between WB's quilts and what I have seen other places? I'm thinking about the EE Revelation, but brand loyalty is a thing for me.

Images
    Quote Originally Posted by FrankGarrett View Post
    Thanks, OutandBack. So is there a big difference between WB's quilts and what I have seen other places? I'm thinking about the EE Revelation, but brand loyalty is a thing for me.