Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hammock
    DIY DL w/attached bugnet
    Tarp
    DIY Winter Tarp
    Insulation
    DIY 10deg quilts

1/2inch CCF pad and DBL wide reflectix

Being that I'm new to hammocking, I'm trying to get an idea of insulation capabilities. I have a double-wide piece of reflectix and one of the cheap WM blue CCF pads that I plan to use until I can buy or DIY an underquilt. I plan to use the CCF on top of the reflectix. I know experimentation for my personal limits will be in order but has anyone tried this arrangement that can provide an edumacated guestimate how low this might be able to work? If it matters, I have a 15degree sleeping bag that I plan to use also until I can buy/DIY a top quilt.

Thanks in advance,
    Kevin

Hammock
    Warbonnet RR / BlackbirdXLC
    Tarp
    SimplyLightDesigns
    Insulation
    Lynx / LocoLibre
    Suspension
    webbing/buckles
    Images
    It really depends on each individual and the humidity. If the humidity is high this combination can store a lot of the bodies condensation and the result can be a cold nights sleep. As you stated, try it out a few times near home and see how it works for you.

Hammock
    diy insulated 10.5
    Tarp
    DIY Asym
    Insulation
    DIY Down UQ/TQ
    Suspension
    becket hitch
    My guess is if you're a warm sleeper this will get you around 35 degrees. Condensation is something to watch, but you can vent your topquilt and pull one of the pads out if condensation starts building. My guess is that as long as you're venting, you won't need to worry about condensation until it warms up a bit. Good luck, and you're right. Spend some time testing to see what works for you.
    Crayons - they might look different, but they all taste the same

Hammock
    Dutch PolyD
    Tarp
    HG Winter Palace
    Insulation
    HG 0, 20, 40
    Suspension
    Dutch Whoopie Hook
    Images