Tarp
    HG WP
    Insulation
    HG Incubator 20
    Suspension
    Webbing / Buckles

Warbonnet Blackbird Bug Net Management

Hello Everyone,

I've been using my WBBB for a couple years now and have always been curious about managing the integrated bug net without staking it out. For clarification, I am solely talking about the entrance side of the hammock, not the shelf pullout. I currently have the Hammock Gear Winter palace and I want to minimize the amount of abrasion the tarp experiences, one of which location is where the bug net is pulled out and staked. I have staked the bug net out closer to the hammock but I don't like the constriction the bug net has when in that setup. I have also set the tarp up higher which may be the long term solution but in the event of torrential downpoor, when abrasion would be at its highest likelyhood, I would like to have the tarp a little lower to maximize coverage from side blowing winds. I have considered creating some attachment point on the inside of my tarp so that the bug net could be pulled out from there and then I could circumvent the abrasion problem while also having to bring one less stake with me.

Has anyone had any experience configuring the WBBB bug net in a non-conventional way? The pullout always seems to get in the way and is generally a nuisance but nonetheless is crucial to the overall functionality of the bug net.

Hammock
    Warbonnet RR / BlackbirdXLC
    Tarp
    SimplyLightDesigns
    Insulation
    Lynx / LocoLibre
    Suspension
    webbing/buckles
    Images
    Have you tried not staking it at all? This is how I use this hammock and it works just fine.
    Last edited by TrailSlug; 10-24-2016 at 19:38.

Hammock
    WBBB 1.1
    Tarp
    HG WP
    Insulation
    HG Incubator 20
    Suspension
    Webbing / Buckles