Tarp
    DIY Silpoly
    Insulation
    UGQ/DIY
    Suspension
    Whoopie/straps
    Images

Cuben Fiber Tarp - which one?

I am seriously looking at getting a cuben fiber tarp but I am not sure which one I want. I currently have a UGQ winter tarp so I am set for the winter but I am looking at something lighter for the rest of the year. If I hike a distance during the winter I use a Pulk so the extra weight is not an issue.

I was thinking about the hex which is listed at 5.3 ounces. Is there anyone that has or had the hex that regrets not getting the standard with doors? Does the hex have enough coverage during a moderate rain? I have onlu used my UGQ tarp so I have no experience with anything smaller.

The standard with doors is listed at 1.2 ounces more than the hex. The difference is not much so is it better to get the doors for the just in case scenario? I do have a 2QZQ underquilt protector that could be used with the hex.

Help me decide how much money to spend!

I jumped on the CF bandwagon after seeing a 12 foot HG w/doors in camo at group hang back in July (thanks Turkey for setting me down the path) and ended up with a case of tarp envy. So, I went ahead and pulled the trigger on a green 11' HG CF with the doors and tiebacks. The weight difference is minimal and as long as your spending the money, toss in a set of cuben snakeskins for good measure. Mine showed up on Friday and I spent part of my weekend playing in the backyard. FYI, I'm using it with a 10 foot SLD netted hammock and have plenty of room....tested it with my 11' Dutch with similar results.

Hammock
    Dutch PolyD
    Tarp
    HG Winter Palace
    Insulation
    HG 0, 20, 40
    Suspension
    Dutch Whoopie Hook
    Images
    I think the Hex would be too small for me. I had the HG Standard and that was too small for me too - it did not protect me from blowing, sideways precipitation. I ended up getting the HG Winter Palace - I've never gotten wet from any precipitation.