Hammock
    DIY gathered end hammock
    Tarp
    DIY HEX Tarp
    Suspension
    Cinch buckles

Differential cut Karo Step UQ

Hi this is my first post, but I have made two hammocks and two tarps in the past. I have some experience when it comes to making gear but I am looking to make a pair of quilts now and thought it wouldn't hurt to have some other opinions.
    I am planing making a karo 30*-35* F UQ. I chose Karo step to avoid weighing out down. The desired finished dimensions are 70"x48"x1.75". I will have a 1" seam allowance. My baffle hight will be 1.5". the Differential top layer will be cut 74.5"x52.25" (not including seam allowance). I have attached a picture of my planned design. I am wondering if I am on the right track? With a quilt like this is the differential cut really worth it? Any feedback or thoughts would be appreciated.

Quilt layout.png

Hammock
    DIY Bridge /Draumr
    Tarp
    DIY Silpoly
    Insulation
    DIY UQ and TQ
    Suspension
    PolyStraps/Huggers
    Personally, I wouldn't worry about adding to the length, just the width. I think your going to need more the 3in ... More like 6....

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    “The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men should do nothing.”

- Edmund Burke

your plans look good -- I made a down UQ 44 x 56 x 3.5 with 16 oz of down. Karo Step is the way to go for sure. I did not use a differential between the top and bottom, as lining up the baffles is more difficult that way. I am good into negative digits and comfortable into the 60's with a loose fit. I do recommend secondary suspension -- check our shugemory on you tube for suspension. Working on my down TQ right now. Good luck

Hammock
    DIY gathered end hammock
    Tarp
    DIY HEX Tarp
    Suspension
    Cinch buckles