DreamHammock Sparrow
    Tarp
    UGQ WD 12
    Insulation
    Burrow & Incubator
    Suspension
    Varies...

HOWDY from Cypress, By-GOD-TEXAS!!!

Hey y'all! Brand new NOOB here. I am brand new to hammock hanging and brand new here at the HF. BUT, I've already signed up for my first ever group hang!!! I'll accept whatever bonus points I get for that...

I found my way here through a quite circuitous route. I've always had a love for the outdoors. I grew up in Central Texas and we were always hunting and fishing and would go camping whenever the mood struck. After college, I started tent camping again and continued that fairly regularly for the next 10 years or so. Then, life started throwing me a few curve balls. I whiffed on a few but then hit a home run when I met my wife 10 years ago. She and I tent camped a half-dozen or so times in the past but we got to a point where sleeping on the ground got to be a pain in the posterior. So what did we do next? YEP!!! You guessed it...we bought...a travel trailer. So we've spent the last year trailer 'glamping' and have had lots of fun and made lots of memories for us and our daughter. We will continue to trailer camp but I have my eye on more overnight backpacking and hammock camping.

A couple of months ago, I started following several people online (via their blogs and YouTube channels) while they were/are hiking the Appalachian Trail. The guy I started following most regularly is named BEVOHI (Bevo for short) - he summited Katahdin on 8/12 by the way - and he spoke of sleeping in a hammock on his thru-hike. This was the first I had heard of this newfangled craze of hammock camping. Literally, in February of this year, I had ZERO knowledge that this craze existed.