My Version of the TurtleLady/TurtleDog Hammock Stand

I’m new to hammocks and this is my first HammockForums post. My interest is hanging indoors, not outdoors. I am a habitual stomach sleeper and as the years go by I have been waking to back pain and spasms, not a good way to greet the day. A hammock should cure me because it’s virtually impossible to sleep on your stomach in one.

I didn’t want to sink large bolts into the walls of my rental house so started looking for a cheap stand. I discovered the TurtleLady/TurtleDog stand. There is extra room in my bedroom so something like it should work for me. But cost was a concern because I still didn’t know if a hammock would work for me. I redesigned the original stand, stripping it down to the most basic parts. I’ll explain my version in (probably too much) detail.
    2016-06-30 10.46.10.jpg

The legs are made of ¾” EMT conduit, 3-10 ft. lengths cut in half. Initially I put them together with tripod lashing using 550 paracord. Didn’t work because the conduit slips through the lashings. Better solution is an assembly of ¼ x 3” bolts and 3” eye-bolts with lock nuts.
    2016-06-08 09.45.39.jpg

Note that the stands in my photos do not have washers because the bolts I initially used are too short. I suggest using the longer ones with washers.
    2016-06-30 10.43.28.jpg

The ridge pole is a 10-½ ft chain-link fence top rail. To reduce the overall length for transport I cut it in half and used the tapered end to refitted the two pieces back together. Holes for ½” bolts are drilled near each end. I hammered ½” bolts into the top of one of the legs of each stand. A bolt head alone will twist and loosen inside the conduit. Threading an additional nut onto the bolt before hammering it in will make for a tight fit.