Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Tarp comparison

Tarp comparison

I am quite new to hammock camping. Slowly acquiring gear so the boss lady doesn't blow a top. My next purchase will be a tarp. I can't justify spending $100 or more on one, and I have grown to like the DD tarps (plenty of tie outs, decent price, etc.). Right now I am stuck between the DD 3x3 and the Tarp M. I think both will work well, I'm just looking for thoughts from those that have them.

Hammock
    Dutch/SLD/WB/DIY
    Tarp
    DWG/HG/SLD/UGQ/DIY
    Insulation
    Loco Libre Gear
    Suspension
    Dutchware
    DD makes the super-durable and very versatile 3x3 tarp, which, while a bit on the heavy side, at approximately 10'x10' gives you some pretty ample shade, weather protection, and space underneath during fairer weather when set up wide and high above your hammock in a diamond pitch. You can also pitch it in a low A-frame (a tad short for an 11-foot hammock, but that's why you pitch it low...) with the ridge line parallel to two sides (and perpendicular to the others) with about enough fabric to reach to the ground if your hammock (assuming about a 9' SRL) is pitched low enough, providing an excellent storm mode, what can be augmented by moving the corner stakes in one tie-out and folding the corners in a bit to cut the wind. DD tarps are heavy-duty and very popular with the bushcraft crowd, so if you want "one tarp to outlast them all", usable for the widest range of applications (if not optimal for any one use) that's the reputation their 3x3 enjoys.