Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

defective warbonnet blackbird and problems with warbonnet customer service

Hey all, I am new to hammockForums and a first-time hammock user. I decided that a hammock would be my home of choice for hiking the oregon section of the PCT this summer.

After many hours of internet research, it was pretty obvious that the warbonnet blackbird was the best hammock out on the market. I opted for this over a less expensive hennessy hammock because I enjoy supporting small businesses who practice ethically (ie, made in the US.)
    I received my hammock, the blackbird single layer 1.7, about a month ago after a brief, helpful exchange with Brandon about how fast orders are typically processed.

I finally got a chance to get out of NYC to the trees to set up my hammock this past weekend. I set up the hammock as instructed. I got the webbing and carabiners since this seemed idiot-proof. After setting it up, all seemed well and I was quite enamored with how comfy it was to lay in. However, upon climbing into my hammock the 3rd or 4th time, I heard a tear, and was promptly on the ground. The gathered end of one side of the hammock had opened and resulted in small tears of the bugnet and hammock. Additionally, I couldn't figure out a way to reattach the hammock to the ridgeline. Again, new to all this and not confident in any sewing skills.

I was less than two weeks out from my trip when this happened and I quickly sent an email and some photos of the damage. Brandon immediately responded with:
    "It looks like you removed the suspension and then re-installed it incorrectly...the Ridgeline is not supposed to be connected to the buckles like that" and told me I should ship it back so he could assess the repair and potential cost.