Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hammock Length/Width

Hey all,

I’m new to backpacking as of the past few months and I went with a hammock setup. Unfortunately the sleeping experience has not been very positive. I’ve spent 6 nights so far on different occasions sleeping in the hammock and I always end up laying in the hammock for hours tossing and turning, unable to find a comfortable position. I’m normally a side/stomach sleeper.

My current hammock is 10.5’ by 58”. I’m 6’2”. Do you think a longer and/or wider hammock would make a difference for me? Has anyone experienced a drastic change in comfort using a longer and/or wider hammock?

Thanks!

Hammock
    DIY 11'
    Tarp
    DIY silnylon 12'
    Insulation
    UGQ 20*TQ HG 20*UQ
    Search around on this site. There are many way to adjust yourself or your hammock to get a better comfort level. Adding length and width should add comfort for you. I'm 6' 3" and I use a 11' DIY hammock. I you are a DIYer, then try longer and wider. Also, you should be using a ridgeline if you're not. It will help you dial it in.

Go to a group hang in your area and try out as many other hammocks as you can.

Also if you can get post a photo of your hammock hung up without you in it that will help folks diagnose things. Shoot from the side and include the suspension. If you can get someone to shoot a pic with you in the hammock as well, that might be helpful too.
    "...the height of hammock snobbery!"

Hammock
    DIY
    Tarp
    DIY
    Insulation
    Goose bumps
    Suspension
    Bat Feet
    Start by attaching your tree straps up high, as in at least to the top of your head.
    Hang your hammock and drop your straps/whoopies down so that there is a lot of sag in the hammock. If you have a ridge line on the hammock, it should have a pretty sever droop in it.
    Get in and test it. If not comfortable start by raising the hammock end at the foot with the straps/whoopies a little at a time. Still not comfy, raise the head a bit.