Hammock
    1.0 HyperDIY
    Tarp
    Warbonnet Edge
    Insulation
    DIY "Grey Ducks"
    Suspension
    Whoopie sling

New to DIY and Need Advice on Building a Hammock.

Hello, hangers! Ive been reading this forum a lot and you guys are amazingly helpful. So, on to my question. I'm looking to go pretty light on my hammock setup, and I want to test a hammock made of 1.0oz HyperD. Im kind of on the lighter side, at 5'8" and 150lbs, so I think I might be okay. I'll be sure to test it extensively before bringing it on any trips, but do you think the material will hold up?
    Also, I've heard people say a gathered end with a sewn channel distributes weight better or something? It seems whipped ends might put too much stress on such a light material? Im not sure. Again, Im new to DIY and thought a hammock would be an easy way to dip my toes in. Any other tips would be great, too! Oh and when I hem the edges would you recommend a triple stitch seam to make sure it's secure? I think I'm going to make it around 60" wide and 10.5-11 feet long. Thanks in advance, I look forward to your answers!

Hammock
    11' Hexon 1.0
    Tarp
    WB Mamajamba
    Insulation
    HGBurrow/Incubator
    Suspension
    Whoopie Slings
    I'm 5' 9" 170 and have an 11ft hexon 1.0. Same material basically. Should be more than enough for you. I just do a single stitch down the sides and triple stitch the end channels. I would suggest making it 11' for sure. You should be very comfortable with not a lot of stretching.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Hammock
    DIY w/ Net
    Tarp
    DIY 11'x10' Hex
    Insulation
    DIY UQ/TQ
    Suspension
    DIY Whoppies + TS
    Images
    I'm about your size (5'9"/150lbs), and personally was on a lightweight kick for a long time. Almost all my hammocks were some form of 1.1/1.0 material. I did make a bridge hammock out of 1.0 Hyper D specifically.