Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Images

Hammock - for female

I have been backpacking and hanging since August of 2015. I started with just the Grand Truck Skeeter Beater. Then I purchased a ENO JungleNest. Now of course I am looking to move to the next one. I am female, 5'3" on a good day, and about 125lbs. Things I am looking for are an integrated bug net (completely removeable is ideal), structural Ridgeline, light of course, and not too bulky. I was looking at the Blackbird and the Blackbird XLC. I really like that the Blackbird is 10 feet but the non removeable bug net is a sticking point. The XLC bugnet is removeable but it is longer. I have been looking and looking for Hangs near me (I am in Atlanta) but haven't had any luck. I would love to try them both before spending more money (last hammock purchase I kept telling myself). Also does anyone know of any groups are places to talk with other female hangers? If there are any female hangers in or near Atlanta, I would love to talk and see how you deal with certain issues. If there is a better place to post this or if I need to split it up please let me know.

I like my XLC a lot but I think you should expand your search to include Dream Hammock and maybe another vendor or two. The Smurfs will make your hammock to whatever length you desire.

The general consensus is that, all other things being equal (not easy to achieve...), a longer hammock offers more comfort. Of course, at 5'3" and looking to keep the hammock weight down for backpacking, 10' might be just the ticket.

I also like integrated nets but a lot of backpackers opt for a Fronkey or similar. Something to consider.

Hammock
    Mayan / Freebird
    Tarp
    SLD Custom
    Insulation
    UGQ 30*F / 0*F
    Suspension
    Whoopie / fleaz
    You might be looking for a Dream Hammock Dangerbird or Sparrow. I have a 10' Freebird with a separate net myself; very comfy. http://www.dream-hammock.com