Hammock
    ENO Junglenest

New to hammocking (?), want to hammock camp

Hi!

I am new to using a hammock and I don't know what I'm doing. I hope to go backpacking with my family sometime this summer. My daughter and I tested a couple of our hammocks yesterday. I have been buying random stuff (like I said, don't know what I'm doing). Right now, we have two inexpensive hammocks (that's what my daughter is in in the picture). We have an Eno JungleNest that I'm going to try, but if it's too short for me it will probably go to my daughter as the cheap ones are longer. We also have a 71"x120" no-name that is supposed to hold two people, but I hope to use it if I can figure out how to deal with the mosquitos.

I have a Yukon Outfitters rainfly that seems awfully small - I am liking the 8x10 tarp that my daughter has. Since we would only do short 1-2 night trips, I'm not as concerned with the weight as I would be if we were doing a thru-hike.

I also picked up three of the $5 hammocks that five-below had. I was considering using them as hang chairs, or possibly taking them off their hooks and adding thrift store sleeping bags to them and making underquilts from them. The ends are just knotted.

I would LOVE any and all advice anyone can give me. The forums here are a great resource.

We really enjoyed just hanging out at the river.

IMG_5669.jpgIMG_5681.jpgIMG_5687.jpg

Hammock
    Dutchware Hexon 1.6 11ft
    Tarp
    Yukon Rainfly
    Insulation
    JRB, AHE, DIY, SP
    Suspension
    Dutch Cinch Buckle
    The Yukon rainfly is meant to be set up as a diamond, not a sqaure, so that will give you a little more coverage if you're not already hanging it that way. I have the Yukon rainfly, and I agree it's a little small, but just enough coverage for a light rain. It's not really a severe storm kind of tarp.