Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hammock
    ENO Singlenest
    Insulation
    Snugpak UQ

UQ's seem like they'd be too short?

Sorry for the newb question, but, well, I am new to hammock camping and very new to this forum

Anyway, I've been camping in my hammock a few nights last summer, and so far, I've either used a sleeping pad or just a blanket to insulate my bottom side, but I'm ready to take the plunge and invest in an under quilt. There's one thing that concerns me though, and it's that pretty much every UQ I've looked at is only ~5 or 6 feet long. Now, I'm not super tall (5' 10") but sometimes I do sleep with my arm under my head, which elongates my length to ~8 feet.

It seems like all the UQ's would not cover the entirety of me, and therefore I would have cold spots and wake up because of them. I know a lot of people just get an extra foot pad, but this seems like extra work and effort when I could just get an UQ that completely covers me. Can someone clarify if this is just me overthinking these or direct me to longer UQ's. Any help or advice would be appreciated.

Hammock
    Towns End BGBH
    Tarp
    UGQ WD12
    Insulation
    HG Incubator 20
    Suspension
    Ultimate Straps
    Images
    Sounds like you've been looking at 3/4 length under quilts. Look at Hammock Gear Incubator series...they are full length UQ and have 3 length choices - short @ 73", regular @ 78" and long @ 83". I'm 6' and have a regular length UQ and that covers me from head to toes no problem.
    Retired US Navy, 10-year Stage IIIb colon cancer survivor. I believe my last words will be "Hold my beer..."

Hammock
    Dutch PolyD
    Tarp
    HG Winter Palace
    Insulation
    HG 0, 20, 40
    Suspension
    Dutch Whoopie Hook
    Images