Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Hammock
    1.6oz hyperD DIY
    Suspension
    Cinch buckle

Continuous loop with a knot

Hi everyone, it's my first time participating in the forum. I'm a huge fan of the site and I'm always looking up questions about hammocks that I find on the forums. I have a question for other DIYers. I don't know how to splice. Between trying things out myself and reading what other people have done, I've come to the conclusion that a triple fisherman's knot is the best way to make a "continuous loop" out of 1/8 inch amsteel. On top of that, I sew a couple of non-load bearing stitches to make the remaining ends from the knots look nicer, that way I don't have any tails snagging or unravelling; you guys know how easily braided amsteel unravels.

So here's my question, has anyone ever done or used this method? Its it recomendable, dangerous or any adjetive I'm just not thinking about? I appreciate the feedback.

-Joel

I know that the knot de-rates the strength of the Amsteel, but I can't tell you how much. The CL would be much stronger. Also, having overcome my initial hesitancy to learning how to splice Amsteel, I would say that splicing a CL actually sounds easier and faster to me than tying fisherman's knots and stitching. By a fair bit.
    Caminante, son tus huellas el camino y nada más... - Antonio Machado

Hammock
    WBBB 1.7 SL
    Tarp
    WB Superfly
    Insulation
    WB and UGQ
    Suspension
    Whoopies or Straps
    Images
    Warbonnet hammocks used to come with continuous loops made with double (of triple) fisherman's knots. Don't know if they still do put that is still a lot of hammocks using them. I do recall one post years ago where someone mentioned their CL fisherman's knot slipped but that's all I can remember. Even though I can splice I have no problems using a CL made with double fisherman's knots. Knots decrease the strength in amsteel but I'm fine with it.
    Don't let life get in the way of living.

Hammock