Warbonnet Blackbird
    Tarp
    Eno Pro Rainfly
    Insulation
    Winter yeti.
    Suspension
    Whoopie slings

Why the taboo on sleeping bags?

So I'm relatively new to hammocking and I enjoy it immensely. I use a WBBB when its buggy, and my ENO DoubleNest when I'm just hanging out (get it? lol) As I've perused the forums, I've noticed a distinct lack of discussion regarding sleeping bags. Are top quilts really that much better or is it just a matter of convenience? I use a 30 degree sleeping bag and I haven't had any issues, but I'm wondering if top quilts are really worth the fuss.

Hammock
    Hammeck Netty
    Tarp
    HG dyneema/MacCat
    Insulation
    DIY UQ and UGQ TQ
    Suspension
    whoopie slings
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by ierinys View Post
    Are top quilts really that much better or is it just a matter of convenience? I use a 30 degree sleeping bag and I haven't had any issues, but I'm wondering if top quilts are really worth the fuss.
    Yes, TQs really are that much better. For just one thing, sleeping bags pretty much only have insulation on top and not underneath, where it wouldn't do much good anyway as it gets crushed.
    "You can stand tall without standing on someone. You can be a victor without having victims." --Harriet Woods

http://www.MeetUp.com/NashvilleBackpacker

Images
    I am not really qualified to answer that question fully but I think if you are comfy you can disregard Internet forum taboo.

Hammock
    Dream-Hammock Darien
    Tarp
    HG Cuben W/ Doors
    Insulation
    EE UQ+LocoLibre TQ
    Suspension
    Whoopie+DutchBling
    Sleeping bags have been known to cause at least 14 types of cancer. If you are going to use one in a hammock, unzip it 3/4 of the way and use it like a quilt.
    Hang the good hang.

Hammock
    11 ft made by MounainWilderness 365
    Tarp
    10x12 Monster Fly
    Insulation
    pads
    Suspension
    5' whoopies
    Images