Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hammock
    DIY 1.6 HyperD XL
    Tarp
    DIY Silpoly
    Suspension
    Whoopies

Topquilt vs Underquilt temp ratings/variations

I'm relatively new to hammock camping, but a veteran camper, in general. I've been making/acquiring some gear specific to hammock camping over the last couple months. After recently making an underquilt with 7.5oz Apex, which is rated by the manufacturer to 10 degrees (F), do you find that a correspondingly rated topquilt is what best suits your needs? Would any of you recommend that the topquilt be rated for lower temps, rated the same, or for higher temps due to being able to add more covers/layers in the hammock?
    Any input is appreciated!

Hammock
    SLD Trail Lair
    Tarp
    12' Trail Haven
    Insulation
    Greylock, EE Revel
    Suspension
    Whoopie Slings
    I would aim for temperature rating that covers season you're planning to use it in the most. It's fairly easy to supplement top insulation for the occasional foray into colder climes. In my own situation; I went for a 4 season Greylock UQ (easy to vent when needed) and a TQ rated for 20 degree because that temp covers me in 90% of my hanging situations (less middle of summer and deep winter).

Hammock
    DIY 1.6 HyperD XL
    Tarp
    DIY Silpoly
    Suspension
    Whoopies
    Thanks for your reply, Donk_67. I appreciate your thoughts!

Hammock
    Bonefire Whisper
    Tarp
    HG DCF Hex
    Insulation
    Sheltowee JRB SS
    Suspension
    Bonefire
    I use a 40/20 insulation kit for 3 season hiking and camping. With med base layers and a fleece hood, I've slept comfortably down to 16 or 17 degrees, with no warmth issues. The 20 UQ works so well, that I use it on the Freebird I sleep in every night at home. easy to vent, until summer months.