Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Spotted in Sam's Club $29 parachute hammock with 400lb weight rating. Any opinions or reviews?

I'm very new to hammocks. I do not own one yet. I'm 6'2" and 345lb with DDD and a couple herniated discs. I want to do more camping, haven't been in years. I'd like to try out a hammock but I do not have lots of cash for trial and error.

It's a Castaway travel hammock item number PA-8106.

With my weight this is the cheapest thing I've found but I can't find any reviews on it. What are your thoughts? I'm likely going back Friday to get one and if nothing else I'll update this with more pictures of it. I'm looking at eventually ordering from Simply Light but I just kinda want to know if this $30 deal is at least good enough to learn what I do and don't like in a hammock so I can make a more informed decision when it comes order time. Thanks in advance.

[AIMG]1917079_10207754074743524_2033018219084916354_n.jpg12734027_10207754076823576_4139119762626063021_n.jpg12743940_10207754073823501_114662880612991938_n.jpg12744037_10207754075743549_3799732619920557401_n.jpg[/AIMG]

Hammock
    DW netless/JS Full net
    Tarp
    Hex
    Insulation
    HG Incubator 40
    Suspension
    Dutch buckle/strap
    With you being 6'2" and this hammock being in the 9 foot family, you will likely not be very comfy. It would make a good sideways loungy thing, but prolly not a "sleeping hammock" for camping.
    Look up before you hook up!!
    Originally Posted by body942
    Me big. Me like hammockgear burrow. Long. Problems no. People good.

I saw the same one at my local costco this past weekend. $30 is a pretty good price, but the length is too short and you'll need suspension anyway. I'd recommend going with SLD, Arrowhead or Dutch and get what will work for you. Yes, it will be a few dollars more, but you'll be happier in the end.

Hammock
    DIY Poly D or Robic XL
    Tarp
    DIY Winter w/doors
    Insulation
    Downy Goodness
    Suspension