Tarp
    DIY canvas 20by20
    Insulation
    Pad
    Suspension
    DIY Webbing

Hello from Australia

Good afternoon,
    I am hoping to get some inspiration and some hammock design ideas from you guys, and hopefully in time make some useful contribution to the forum. I am planning to make a hammock to use on an upcoming motorcycle trip in Tasmania. There will be a 4WD carrying all the camping gear so the hammock does not need to be ultra light. I am thinking of making a bridge hammock out of maybe 7 to 10 oz durable Australian canvas.

A bit about myself.... My ancestors were tailors so although I am an engineer I enjoy making things that often include using sewing machines. I have been camping on the ground and sometimes in the back of my 4WD for more than half a century. Lately I have slept a few nights in a Tentsile tree tent, which maybe can be classed as a hammock and I slept comfortably. I don't hike and carry much any more but go bush in the 4WD and camp.

In the past I have imported materials and machines from the USA but recently I found an importer of hammock DIY materials has stated up in Tasmania. This has motivated me to get started. Dutch titanium tarp wasps and fleaz etc are now part of my lexicon. Whoopie slings are easy enough. Still as yet to suss out the meaning of header and footer ratios though.
    Regards to all.
    Myles

Australia...Sub-Tropical Qld, Temperate Tasmania & Tropical Thailand
    Hammock
    Madtree Tarseer
    Tarp
    DIY Cuben
    Insulation
    Warm & fluffy
    Suspension
    Slings and Rings
    Images
    4wd, motorcycle or shank's pony, doesn't matter how you travel, Myles....new hammocker's are always welcome here.
    Mountain views are good for the soul....& getting to them is good for my waistline.

https://ofuros.exposure.co/

Images
    Welcome from Tasmania.

Hammock
    DIY TierGear Netless
    Tarp
    DIY canvas 20by20
    Insulation
    Pad
    Suspension
    DIY Webbing
    Hi Simon,