Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Hammock
    DIY 12'
    Insulation
    Costco Down Quilt
    Suspension
    DIY Amsteel

Costco Down Throw Top Quilt

I bought 6 of the Costco down throws to make top quilts and underquilts for me and my 2 kids. This is how I decided to make my top quilt.

Since these throws are only 60"x70" and I'm 6'1", I was worried about shortening the quilt much by trying to add the foot box. I started playing around clipping the quilt in various configurations to see what would be best. It seems like some have decided to remove a row of squares from one quilt and add them to another to make a top quilt but I didn't want to have to purchase any more quilt to do this. This is what I came up:

2015-10-01 14.44.17.jpg
    2015-10-01 14.44.28.jpg

I spread the quilt out and decided to use it diagonally to get the maximum length. I folded one corner in by three squares then brought the sides in to match it. I clipped the edges together on each side of the triangle. I then joined the 2 sides together for the length of 3 squares. I borrowed my daughter's hammock in her room to check it out. It seemed to work very well. I folded the top corner down and under to keep it from hitting my face. My shoulders fit will in the angled top as well and had good amount of room to tuck the quilt under if necessary. The best part is that the center is really wide. There is plenty of room to move and even roll over on my side. I decided to move forward and inject some thread.

2015-10-01 22.42.36.jpg
    2015-10-01 22.42.52.jpg

This is what it looked like when I finished. I haven't tried it out yet but I think it will be great. Although, I'm very new to all of this and have nothing to compare it to. The price was definitely right and it seems to be pretty warm.