Tarp
    DD SuperLight Tarp
    Insulation
    UKHammocks UQ/TQ
    Suspension
    Whoopie slings

Wink Hello from the Netherlands

Hi folks. Just a "quick" introduction.

I am rather new to hammocking. When I was around 15, I bought a hammock which was woven (a bit like a fishing net) and used it a few times for fun. That's as far as my experience goes. When I was younger than I am now, I used to take my poncho to use it as as a simpel shelter and some blankets to lie on and under and camp out in the forest. Now I am 45 and my body won't allow me to do that anymore. So I thought about using a hammock, because I miss those days of just camping out. But I need a bit more comfort than the ground.

I have reasearched a lot (that's my thing) and watched loads and loads of YT video's, read the "The Ultimate Hang" by Derek J. Hansen and had a conversation via mail with him about hammocks and what would be a good choise for me. Derek is a great guy and very helpfull and was willing to take the time for me.

At the moment I have a cheap Chinese hammock with incorperated mosquito netting (220/250 cm. by 120 cm.) and a self made hammock from ripstop nylon (290/300 cm. by 150 cm). The Chinese version is a suprisingly good built, for something that only cost 12 Euro's. I expected a totall waste of money, but was pleasantly surprised. The only drawback is that it is to small. Mainly to narrow.

My self made hammock is nice and comfortable, but not a "real" hammock. It's just cloth with at the ends a knot tied into it, with continuous loops "hugging" the knot. I needed the knot, because without the knot the loop was sliding off (I fell down LOL. Glad I had it hanging above my bed so the fall was soft:-)).

I am reasonably tall 6.00-6.03 feet or 1.83-1.84 meters and don't way much (74 kg.).