Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Newbie Setup Suggestions

Hello Everyone,

I'm fairly new to the hammock scene, however I really want to sleep in a hammock during future backpacking trips. I'm looking for a hammock that is simple and not too expensive. The ENO Doublenest isn't too popular here, but my friend has one and recommends it. I am also looking for an insulation pad; I'm not willing to spend a lot of money on an UQ yet. The WB Superfly seems to be a good tarp for the price, so I'm edging towards that. Please give my your suggestions on hammocks and pads! Thanks.

Hammock
    Dutch & DIY Bridge
    Tarp
    WL Big Daddy
    Insulation
    Jarbidge, DIY TQ
    Suspension
    H. Anchors, Straps
    Don't make the mistake of getting an ENO setup like I did. I have since replaced all my ENO gear for our vendors gear and am way more satisfied in quality, durability, weight and options.

As far as ENO you're going to spend $70 on the hammock. $5 on a ridge line. $30 on suspension. Total $105.

I'd go with Dutch gear. No net hammock $35. Dutch cinch buckle suspension $40. Ridge line $6. Total $81.

Save yourself $24 and half the weight on go Dutch. Or use that saved cash and upgrade to the whoopie hook suspension (I prefer).
    Formerly known as - SloGo

Hammock
    Dutch & DIY Bridge
    Tarp
    WL Big Daddy
    Insulation
    Jarbidge, DIY TQ
    Suspension
    H. Anchors, Straps
    As far as pads. Before I did a DIY underquilt I used the cheap Walmart blue pads down to 35-40 degrees comfortably. I'm sure better pads would get you lower but I don't have experience with them.
    Formerly known as - SloGo

Hammock
    Ask me tomorrow
    Tarp
    Old Blue
    Insulation
    DIY, HG Incubator
    Suspension
    Agnostic
    Images
    Welcome to hammocking!!