First Hang in Yosemite & Gear List/Weights

Hey all!

I'm new to the Hammock world, have done a lot of research on this forum, and outfitted myself with a new set-up for my first hang at THE Yosemite National Park! Here's my set up:

IMG_0043.jpg IMG_1265.jpg
    (The angle is a bit weird so the tarp doesn't look as straight).

• Dutchware 1.6 PolyD Hammock with continuous loops and whoopie hooks (10.2oz)
    • Hammock Gear ridgeline organizer (0.22oz)
    • DIY tulle bug sock (3.3oz)
    • Hammock Gear Phoenix 40 deg. UQ (11.7oz)
    • Whoopies, kevlar tree straps (2.6oz)
    • Yukon Outfitters tarp, ridgeline with Dutch hook and wasp, snake skins, figure 9s and MSR Groundhog stakes (15oz)
    • Cocoon Hyperlite AirCore pillow (2.4oz)
    • Dutchware seat pad for foot insulation in sleeping bag (0.6oz)

The kit (pre TQ) weighs a total of 46.02oz. This trip, since I was car camping, I used my 20 deg REI Igneo sleeping back as a TQ (30.7oz). In the field and depending on the weather, I would either use my SOL Escape Bivy (8.5oz) or I'm looking to buy a 40 deg Hammock Gear TQ.

The set up was comfy and warm down to the lower 40s at night (I think it dipped into the high 30s the last night)! The only major issues I had were the pillow (the inflated pillow didn't allow the back of my head to breathe) and maybe a wider hammock (DH Darien? WBBB?). I found that I needed a bit more room as I am a side sleeper and shift around quite a bit at night.

Any feedback or suggestions?
    For my fellow side sleepers, what are your tricks for hammock comfort?
    Any pillow suggestions?
    Does staking out the sides of the hammock help with the claustrophobic feeling and allow more freedom of movement?

Thanks for all you have taught me, HF! Happy Hanging!

Senior Member mountain_man_mike's Avatar
    Hammock
    DIY
    Tarp
    DIY silnylon
    Insulation
    DIY CLIMASHIELD UQ
    Suspension
    DIY hugs & whoopie