Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Stuck on what my first hammock should be...

Well, the title says it all. I am new to hanging. The two hammock systems that are interesting me are the Warbonnet BB XLC and the DD Frontline.

I like the DD because it seems to be very versatile in the sense that I could go to ground easily. This is important to me, because eventually I will be out in NM on the mesa and around the high desert among the sage brush. I want a minimal and quick way to go to ground, and an efficient way to keep the bugs off. I've done some tent camping out there and the bugs do come. Not so much mosquitos, but other stuff that just likes to land on you, then there are all the guys on the ground looking for boots and such. The DD would fit nicely among the sage, and really you can't beat the price.

The Warbonnet just stinks of quality. I have never read a bad review, and after much research on the materials it really does seem like an excellent piece of equipment. Also, it really looks cozy. The DD hammock itself does not look as breathable. The Warbonnet looks breathable and comfortable as well as sturdy. Also, I could see going to ground with it. The only draw back is that the bug net might get in the face more than the DD. It is also more expensive.

Those are my questions. Any opinions on the matter would be greatly appreciated! Thanks guys!

If I had to do it again I'd get a warbonnet black bird.

Hammock
    WBBB xlc multicam
    Tarp
    MWG Storm Fly
    Insulation
    HG Incubator 0+1
    Suspension
    Straps, buckles
    I have no experience with the frontline. And i have never went to ground with my xlc. But i really like my xlc and i believe i could go to ground with it but i would want to avoid that if possible. Love hanging in that thing...comfy and worth the price.

Hammock
    DL RidgeRunner
    Tarp
    SLD Winter Haven
    Insulation
    Nemo Tensor
    Suspension
    Beetle Buckles