Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Newbie plans to thru hike the AT w/ Hammock

I'm planning a trip to thru hike the AT in 2016 and from my research hammocks seem like the best way to go. I've always used tents when camping so I'm completely new to this. I like what I've seen from Hennessy Hammocks tho I haven't settled on a model yet. I was thinking that I'd just use a pad and a sleeping bag but do you think this would keep me warm enough for the trip or most of it? Anything I should be aware of as a newb? Any tips or tricks would be welcomed. Have you hiked the AT w/ a hammock? If so, which one and what was your set up?

I am new to the hammock world too (so take tis for what its worth), but I have been backpacking a long time. First, I assume you are northbounding for your thru hike. I think you might be OK, but realize if you start in April like everyone else, it can still get pretty cool/cold at times those first couple of months as well as near the end in Maine. You will at least have to consider a couple different bags. The pad will be helpful if you want to go to ground or in a shelter. Considering the time and investment you are already putting into the trru hike, I would consider an underquilt as part of the system as well. Just MHO though.
    "We've all heard that a million monkeys banging on a million typewriters will eventually reproduce the entire works of Shakespeare. Now, thanks to the Internet, we know this is not true." Robert Wilensky

Hammock
    Dutch Custom NylonD 1.6 Dbl Layer
    Tarp
    Monster Fly 10x12'
    Suspension
    Whoopie Slings
    Actually I'm planning the same thing for next year (also a newb) right now i'm planning on a 20* top quilt and under quilt. going to do a few shakedown runs this summer and adjust / tweak things as needed. also thinking about bringing a pad as a just in case i'm stuck in a shelter say in the smokies or something. but haven't decided for sure on that.

Hammock
    Blackbird 1.7 double
    Tarp
    HG Cuben