N/A
    Insulation
    N/A
    Suspension
    N/A
    Images

Cattails - A free alternative to down?

Hi Everybody,

This is my first post so I will open w/ a bit out how I got here before I get to my point (title). Also - thanks to the operator(s) and active members of this place for a great resource / community!

I'm VERY new to hanging-out and see this as becoming me latest addiction. I just spent my first night outside in a self-hammock I put together. It reached 39* F w/ light winds. I was hanging about 24 inches above mother earth and directly below a heavy depot style tarp. Under me was a 3/4 length self-inflating camping pad. I was inside my Kelty 15* F bag. I was rather warm most of the night but whatever part of me pressed up against the exposed hammock quickly compressed and got a little chilly.

This got me thinking about under-quilts. Man... I really want an under-quilt - that would solve my problem totally - I just know it... And I'd REALLY like a DOWN under-quilt... but MAN - down is expensive! So I started doing some research and found some vague references to the Native people and their use of CATTAILS as insulation. I happened to have some cattails drying for another purpose so I took a medium one that was starting to go to seed and pulled it apart. WOW... This stuff looks REALLY promising! To boot, you get quite a bit from a single mature cattail. I'd say 40 or 50 would make a nice sized under-quilt.

I don't have any down to compare this with but I really think it has to be pretty darn good as far as FREE insulation goes. In addition it is a natural material and therefore renewable. A plus for the animal lovers - its a plant!