LSOH,WARRIOR EDGE
    Tarp
    dd xl
    Insulation
    LSOH Toaster Down
    Suspension
    various

help what am i doing wrong ?

I was out this past couple of days at my favorite lake and for the life of me I could not get my hammock high enough or even worse when I tried to re-adjust it I could not undo my cinch-bug ( first time using this )I had had a 1/8/ speed hook on 1 end and a the cinch bug on the other ,just to try it out ,( I have never used any type of chinch -buckle before ) so after a lot of messing about the only way I could release the bug was to undo the speed hook,,so then I thought I would remove the bug and go to a whoopee sling ( tried and never let me down before ) well I wanted to make an adjustment at the whoopee sling end and it would not release I could tighten it but there was no way it would loosen up for me ,I acutally had to cut it ,i put a brand new whoopee on 1 end and had the same problem ( would not release ) I have never had this happen to me before ,I wonder if it has to do with the load factor i.e I have went to a lazy slug tube.so I had my hammock, bug net, new river long u.g.and a regular sleeping bag all in the tube ,it was getting dark so I made do with a very un-comfortable night hang ,then the next day i tried again and i finally got the cinch-bug to move a little ,so took the cinch bug off and went to just speed hooks ( both ends and then i could not adjust them tight enough ,my tree span was approx. 18 20 ft i have hung in this very same spot many many times ,so now i was getting p.o. so i took everything out of the tube and just setup the bare naked hammock with 1 end a speed hook and a cinch bug the other, setup was a success although then i had to start adding all my stuff again, everything seemed fine until i had to pack up and the cinchbug would not release ,thank god i had a speed hook on 1 end.

my question is why would the whoppie not release ?
    is there a trick to the cinch bug ,( i watched the video a lot )