Dutch Hexon Wide
    Tarp
    Kelty Noah
    Insulation
    Snugpak UQ
    Suspension
    whoopie

Pad vs quilt conundrum

I'm still relatively new at this, it will be only my second season of hammock camping. I can't see ever wanting to sleep on the ground again. My one issue is insulation and I've done some reading here and want to get clarification on some points and would appreciate suggestions.

I went with two HH ultralite asym classic. It seemed like a decent price point, on sale even at the time, and there were entirely too many manufacturers to choose from. Still I wish I researched it a bit more but also generally ok with these for now. The classic model as most here probably know is not a side zipper but bottom velcro entry. It was one of the things that attracted me to it, no zipper to get caught in the middle of the night and less likely to get damaged permanently. Although not relevant, I went with descender rings, carabiners and straps for suspension and combined with snake skins, setup and take down is blazing fast.

Spring and Fall when temperatures drop is my problem, especially if the winds are gusty. Thermals, hat, 30F sleeping bags (compresses down to grapefruit size and ample in the same circumstances if in a ground tent) and a partially deflated torso length sleeping pad don't quite cut it. I was contemplating reflectix but am hesitating. I thought perhaps if it isn't too cold there wouldn't be too much condensation but reading about dew point there are entirely too many variables including humidity. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dew_po..._approximation Do people generally find using reflectix or other padding that they tend not to get too wet if low temperature stays say 45F or lower? It seems some people use partial not full lengths of this stuff, presumably to avoid creating a pool to collect moisture. If this is true do you tend to use it for your lower half and another type of pad, like an air pad, for the torso?