Hammock
    DH Dangerbird
    Tarp
    Kelty 12x12

Suspension Questions

Hi Folks,

Newbie here with two (maybe dumb) questions about Dutch suspensions.

First what is the benefit of the dutch clip when it seems to be just as easy to feed one end of your tree strap through the other?

Second what is the benefit of connecting the whoopie sling to the strap using a Marlin Spike, in Dutch's videos he is just using a Lark's head?

Sorry if these are self explanatory, I'm pretty set on my hammock but now am trying to sort out what suspension I'm going with!

Thanks

Hammock
    WBBB XLC, left lay
    Tarp
    HG Winter Palace
    Insulation
    HG Inc and Burrow
    Suspension
    Ti Strap Anchors
    Images
    on your first question, as a fellow noob, i spent a lot of time on this board trying to figure it out too. using the built-in loops is perfectly fine, but it seems a lot of folks like using a clip or carabiner because it's more convenient. to me, that convenience is lost by having extra hardware to carry around. knowing what i know now, i would just stick with the strap loops. you can buy clips/carabiners later if you feel the need to save a few seconds from setting up your rig.

Hammock
    DH, WBBB, Dutch, DIY
    Tarp
    HG, WBSF, UGQ
    Insulation
    HG, LLG
    Suspension
    Whoopie Hooks
    Welcome to the forums!

1.) The only real benefit is speed and ease of use. I personally use a whoopie hook suspension, so my whoopie sling is attached to the opposite end of the strap. With 5-6 foot straps linked to 6 foot whoopies, that's at least 10 feet of strap/line that I'd need to pull through the loop every time - and more than once lately I've set up only to decide that I need to give the strap another wrap around the tree, meaning I'd need to pull that all out and do it again. Not a huge deal in the grand scheme, but for a few grams it eliminates the need to have to feed the whole thing through the end loop and it's worth it for me.