Tarp
    BCUSA multicam
    Insulation
    beefed up PLUQ
    Suspension
    whoopies n straps

Hang-curious motorcycle camper here

Hey all!

I'm a total newbie, and hammockless at that, on here to read up and try to determine what would work best for me.
    I HAD a HH safari deluxe, but... the then-gf wanted to share it with me but we didn't fit well. In the middle of the night, we woke up cold and on the ground, the hang was pronounced a failure and the hammock shelved indefinitely.

Well, we broke up n she kept it for reasons I can't fathom, so now i'm looking for something smaller and maybe a bit more "me".

I currently tour Oregon and Washington on my cbr250 with a 5# tent, 9.5# go-cot, air mattress and sleeping bag. Given that my steed is so small and packing room so minimal, i'm looking to cut that down a bit. My back and joints require the cot if i'm on the ground, though, so I'm coming back to the hammock idea.

I'm small (5'4") and light (125#) so size isn't a limitation as mich as just needing flexibility in maybe having to set up my hammock on the ground as a bivy sometimes if there aren't workable trees at my site.
    My present short list (though I'm still all ears) is a double layer Dream Darien or Nighthawk with multicam Tadpole tarp, whoopies, and ccf+reflectix pad. I tend to sleep cold, but if I need to set up on the ground, I'd rather have a pad under me than an UQ.

Any thoughts or suggestions are welcome!
    Last edited by Kitsune06; 01-25-2015 at 23:18.

Hammock
    Dutch 11ft NylonD
    Tarp
    OES 4 season
    Insulation
    KAQ UQ, Down20*Bag
    Suspension
    Whoopie Hooks
    Welcome, you're in the right place. Take your time looking around at all the info and hammock vendors (cottage vendors) here on the forum. You'll find lots of options to suit your preferences.

Hammock
    DIY
    Tarp
    WB Superfly
    Insulation
    DIY Down UQ & TQ
    Suspension
    Amsteel Speed Hook
    Images