Hammock
    ENO Doublenest
    Insulation
    HG Incubator 20
    Suspension
    Webbing/Atlas Strp

Newbie from NY with questions!

Hi All! I'm a college student currently residing in the Hudson Valley NY area and am a bit new to the hammock camping lifestyle but I'm trying to establish a good gear system. When my brother and I first got our hammocks a few summers ago we over-zealously went on an overnight trip on the AT with just our hammocks and sleeping bags which, not surprisingly, turned out to be a disaster. Since then I have purchased some much-needed accessories, including a bug net, a cheap tarp, and a HG Incubator 20* which will hopefully get here soon (I’m sure they’re swamped from the holidays!), and I still plan on using my 20* synthetic sleeping bag on top. I’m trying to winterize my gear without breaking the bank and my budget went about as far as the Incubator. I know I’m lacking on legit gear but my question to you experts is, will I survive a northeast winter hang if I throw in an insulated foam pad and some warm clothes? Mind you, the tarp that I have is a 9x12’ $10 blue tarp until I can afford something better.

As far as testing my gear overnight, I don’t think I’m experienced enough to do a solo trip and I’m seriously lacking outdoorsy friends. I really want to show up at a hang but I first want to make sure I’m not grossly unprepared. Thanks and nice to meet you all!

Hammock
    Claytor
    Tarp
    MacCat delux Spinn
    Insulation
    CCF and Quilts
    Suspension
    web and buckles
    Images
    Winter in a hammock in NY does not require expensive gear. While many (most) on HF will use an UQ in the winter, I use pads. Been to minus 22F. I would not suggest your system would work that low. My point is simply, cold weather NY winters do not require high cost gear. There might be other reasons due to personal preference, but cheap systems do work too. In some aspects better, in others not so. Everything is a tradeoff.