Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Silnylon: What weight & breathability?

Hello all,

I'm about to bite the bullet and start buying the various components for my first hammock build.

I'm going for a ripstop nylon as, from what I've read on the forum so far, it offers the greatest strength for the least weight whilst still being elastic enough to withstand plenty of movement/stress.

However, before I commit my hard earned cash, there are a few things that I really need help to understand:

1. I weigh 82kg/180lbs. What weight of fabric should I shoot for? 1.1, 1.5, 1.9? Does a DL 1.1 = a SL 2.4? I can't find any breaking loads listed for these materials.

2. Is breathable or non-breathable preferable? I'll be using my existing Neoair Xtherm inflatable pad and full sleeping bag instead of a TQ to keep costs down for the time being. I've read about "sweat-pooling" being a problem. Given that my pad is non-breathable, should I go for a non-breathable silnylon?

I'm a total noob to most of these concepts having only just started looking at hammocks about a week ago.

I'm leaning towards this Multicam fabric at RBTR but would really appreciate some advice from you guys!!

Thanks!

LOMAX
    Last edited by LOMAX; 01-02-2015 at 18:53.

Senior Member Scotty Von Porkchop's Avatar
    Hammock
    BeUL with stretchy footbox
    Tarp
    silnylon hex
    Insulation
    Down
    Suspension
    Mule tape
    Images
    1. I prefer around 1.6 while weighing about 95, but I've hung with CraigE on here who swears by 1.1 while weighing more than I do. Personal preference really.

2. Definitely breathable. While the pad will be a barrier to sweat anyway the slipperyness of silnylon will be a nightmare on a pad.

Hammock
    11' Poly Ripstop
    Tarp
    DIY Sil Cat Hex
    Insulation
    Phoenix and Synth
    Suspension
    Hammock Anchors